FROME HERITAGE MUSEUM

square-facebook-512   LIKE US ON FACEBOOK                                       
DOWNLOAD THE FROME MUSEUM BROCHURE      Side One    Side Two

Frome Museum is closed until Tuesday 10th March 2020, although until then we are open to researchers by appointment.

The Cockey Story at Frome Museum

The first exhibition of the 2020 season will be looking at the Cockey family from the 18th Century onwards.  A truly fascinating exhibition of local history, it will highlight the immense contribution that the Cockey family have made to Frome and surrounding areas.  Find out too about their connections with the United States and Australia.

The Cockey name has been prominent in Frome history since 1682.  The family were influential in clock-making, bell-casting, as iron founders and agricultural engineers.

Lewis Cockey was an active member of the town and a church warden but it was his eldest son Edward who formed Edward Cockey and Sons in 1819 when their main business was focussed on an ambitious range of iron and brass castings including street furniture, bollards, drain covers and parts for the newly invented street gas lighting.  This diversified into gas production, purifiers, gas holders, scrubbers and condensers, enabling Cockey to produce and supply gas lighting to Frome as early as the 1830s.  The family quickly became proficient in gas engineering and safety and by 1851 employed 76 people.

The beloved streetlamps that are unique to Frome today and referred to as ‘Our Cockey Lamps’ were created with the advent of electricity in 1904 when the existing gas lamp standards were converted and adapted with JW Singer & Sons’ Art Nouveau leaf designs.

Also in 1904 10 Arc Lamps were erected on Portway, Badcox, Bath Street and North Parade. Little is known about the design or the fate of these lamps – if anyone has any photographs or information please contact the Museum or, better still, come to the exhibition and let us know.

There are between 70 and 80 Cockey Lamps left and many are in a sad state of repair.  Many are not listed and those outside conservation areas are at great risk of removal.  They are disappearing at an alarming rate as Frome develops. With the support of Frome Town Council, The Frome Society for Local Study and the tireless contributions of volunteers, the Museum is hoping to embark on a project with Iron Art of Bath who will provide training and expert advice on how to survey, retain and repair the remaining lamps. 

cockey & singer

A Cockey Lamp

Frome Heritage Museum welcomes school and other group visits, throughout the year.  However, to avoid disappointment and make the most of your visit we must ask you to contact us in advance by phone (+44 (0)1373 454611) or e-mail info@frome-heritage-museum.org.

  • Frome Heritage Museum is located in the centre of the town in our hisOpening sign editedtoric listed
    building built for the Frome Literary and Scientific Institution.
  • We have fascinating collections of local, regional or even national importance.  The two galleries (entered off North Parade) have regularly changing exhibitions and displays of a wide range of local history.
  • There is a shop

The Library/Archive is open to researchers by appointment throughout the year.   Researchers are asked to email,  telephone or write to arrange an appointment and also give brief details of their research. This will allow our volunteers to locate relevant documents and photographs in advance of your visit.  In line with policy at most archives today charges are levied for photocopies and other services.  Details are available on request.

The Museum and Library is run entirely by volunteers and we receive no support from the local authorities. Please help to keep admission free by making a donation – £2 is suggested.

We are very grateful for donations of material which relate to the history of Frome and the surrounding parishes but please contact us in advance so appropriate arrangements can be made for your visit.

Save

Save